AFL Champions

The American Football League was founded in 1959.  The league was in operation from between the 1960-1969 seasons.  The original teams in the inaugural 1960 AFL season were the Boston Patriots, Buffalo Bills, Dallas Texans, Denver Broncos, Houston Oilers, Los Angeles Chargers, New York Titans, and Oakland Raiders.  The Miami Dolphins and Cincinnati Bengals joined later in the decade, while Dallas and Los Angeles moved to Kansas City and San Diego respectively.  The AFL Championship pitted the Eastern Division Champion versus the Western Division Champion.

1960 Houston Oilers 24, Los Angeles Chargers 16

1961 Houston Oilers 10, San Diego Chargers 3

1962 Dallas Texans 20, Houston Oilers 17 2OT

1963 San Diego Chargers 51, Boston Patriots 10

1964 Buffalo Bills 20, San Diego Chargers 7

1965 Buffalo Bills 23, San Diego Chargers 0

1966 Kansas City Chiefs 31, Buffalo Bills 7

1967 Oakland Raiders 40, Houston Oilers 7

1968 New York Jets 27, Oakland Raiders 23

1969 Kansas City Chiefs 17, Oakland Raiders 7

Super Bowl Champions

NFL Champions

NFC Champions

AFC Champions



2 Replies to “AFL Champions”

Comments are closed.